Arena track 3k and 5th Super Series race.

Class of 2017

Arena track 3k and 5th Super Series race.
Monday 8th May saw the return of the Arena track 3k event which was part of the Super Series challenge. This year’s event saw a record turnout of 64 members taking part and as the number of men has also increased, there had to be two races for the men.

The ladies race was first off and it was clear from the start that the two front-runners were Tara Shanahan and Dani. It was a treat to watch these two ladies pace themselves around the 7.5 laps with Dani shadowing Tara throughout the whole race up until the last 50 or so metres when Tara (10.54) put herself into another gear and managed to pull away from Dani (10.59) to take first lady home with Dani being 2nd lady. 3rd lady home was a very credible run from Soulla Wright (11.41) who, having been out with a virus over the last few weeks, looked strong throughout the race.

Here are the women’s places and times for 2016 and 2017 for comparison:
Women – 2017
1. Tara Shanahan – 10.54
2. Dani Tarleton – 10.59
3. Soulla Wright – 11.41

Women – 2016
1. Caroline Hoyte – 10.51
2. Tara Shanahan – 11.09
3. Dani Tarleton – 11.19

The first men’s A race was the faster of the two races. This looked like a tantalising feast for us to watch and so it was to prove. The early pacesetters had Richard Clayton, Timmy Gedin and Alex Jago holding the front three places or the first 5 laps with Barker and Snelling chasing the front pack. Lap 5 saw Richard Clayton starting to pile it on and Alex Jago just dropped off from the pace being set by Clayton at this stage. It was now Timmy and Richard looking for 1st and 2nd place. By lap 7 Richard had opened up enough of a gap between him and Timmy and so it was at the finishing line with Richard (9.25) still looking very strong at the finish and Timmy (9.28) just 3 seconds behind. The third place was going all the way to the line between Michael Barker (9.40) and Anthony Snelling but Michael just had a slight stride advantage…sorry I meant huge stride advantage over Anthony and just pipped him to 3rd place by 1 second.

I would also like to mention Henry Miller who came home in 7th place. It’s sometimes easy to forget that Henry is classed as a junior and still only 16 years of age. It’s almost taken for granted that Henry is always amongst the front-runners but, when you consider his age, I think we should all take our hats off to him once in a while and give him the acknowledgement that he deserves.

The men’s B race I’m sure was very good but I apologise for the lack of commentary about this one as I was running in this one and all I can say is that there was some lapping going on and some excellent form was on display. Barry Pearson was the man who took the tape for this race in 1st place (10.35) with Ricky Coleman taking 2nd (10.48) and Ross McLatchie taking 3rd place (11.24).

Here are the men’s places and times for 2016 and 2017 for comparison:
Men – 2017
1. Richard Clayton – 9.25
2. Timmy Gedin – 9.28
3. Michael Barker – 9.40

Men – 2016
1. Timmy Gedin – 9.36
2. Michael Barker – 9.52
3. Richard Clayton – 9.55

Big congratulations to both Tara And Richie on their fine performances and well done to all who took part and helped to create a top social running event for the club. The trophies were presented by our club President Chris Naylor.

I feel the biggest thing to take away from this event was the support shown by our Arena members to those running, from everyone at the front to everyone at the back. Never has the club’s mantra been as prevalent as was shown here (club mantra: be respectful, be supportive, be the best you can), it was second to none. The event could not have gone ahead without the organising from Danny Cartledge and to all the volunteers that helped to make this a firm favourite in the Arena calendar so our biggest thanks to you all.

The next Super Series race is on Saturday 24th June. It’s the Downland Dash which is also part of the WSFRL.

For all Super Series races:

Latest Super Series table for 2017 can be found: here

For all WSFRL races: